16 countries cited for religious freedom concerns
AFA initiatives, Christian activism, news briefs

August 2018 – In April, the U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom released its 2018 annual report. The report cites countries with ongoing downward trends of restrictions and violations against religious freedom.

Ten countries were redesignated from 2017 as countries of particular concern: Burma, China, Eritrea, Iran, North Korea, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.

In the new report, six more countries were added to the category: Central African Republic, Nigeria, Pakistan, Russia, Syria, and Vietnam.

religionnews.com, 4/25/18; uscirf.gov, 4/25/18